Program Description:
Pearson BTEC Higher National Diploma in Computing is to develop students as professional, self-reflecting individuals able to meet the demands of employers in the computing sector and adapt to a constantly changing world. The qualifications aim to widen access to higher education and enhance the career prospects of those who undertake them

On successful completion of the program you will be awarded Pearson BTEC Level 5 HND Diploma in Computing

Program Duration:
The BTEC level 5 HND Diploma in Computing is studied over a period of 18 months.


About HND:

  1. HND contains the knowledge and skills students need to succeed at degree-level study and beyond.
  2. Created with extensive input from employers and professional bodies; learner is provided with both the theory and skills relevant to their chosen profession.


Successful BTEC Higher National graduates:

  • Have the ability to progress into suitable employment in the work place.
  • Are able to gain exemptions and progress into Honors degree program in relevant subjects.
  • Are able to apply for membership in professional bodies.


Course content (Modules):
Level 4 Units:

  1. Programming
  2. Networking
  3. Professional Practice
  4. Database Design and Development
  5. Security
  6. Managing successful Computing Project
  7. Software Development Lifecycle
  8. Website Design and Development


Level 5 Units:

  1. Computing Research Project
  2. Business Intelligence
  3. Network Management
  4. Client Server Computing


Specialist Units
Network Engineering Pathway

  • Transport Network Design
  • Cloud Computing
  • Network Security

Software Engineering Pathway:

  • Discrete Mathematics
  • Data Structures and Algorithm
  • Advanced Programming

Security Pathway:

  • Cryptography
  • Forensics
  • Information Security Management

Intelligent Systems Pathway:

  • Data Structures and Algorithm
  • Machine Learning
  • Artificial Intelligence